The Privilege of Prayer

I don’t know about you, reader, but I often fail to commit myself to a consistent prayer life. I don’t know why I struggle in this way. Perhaps my soul is a lazy soul. Or perhaps I am so gripped with fear and worry at various circumstances, that I do all I can but pray concerning them.

I have always prayed kneeling. Ever since I first received Christ by simple faith as an eleven year old boy, I have knelt. I don’t think this will cause my prayers to be heard by God, than otherwise in some other posture. But in my personal place and space, behind closed doors, it is my own way of showing respect and reverence for God my Father.

But whenever I do pray, I really believe that God is listening to my every word. I can become before the throne of the God of the whole universe, and my concerns will be heard by the Father, through his Son Jesus Christ.

When I think about it, this is genuinely a complete mystery. The Bible says that, compared to God, “All the nations are a drop in a bucket” (Isaiah 40:15). And yet we as individuals, according 1 John 5:14, can have confidence that God so cares for each of us individually that we can approach him, and, “if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us.”

So I think prayer is a great privilege, and an honour. God doesn’t need to hear us. There aren’t set prayer times. We can come to our Father whenever we need to, and he will always listen, with a smiling face, to give us grace in our time of need.

3 thoughts on “The Privilege of Prayer

  1. Laura says:

    Your honesty about your serious failure to live out a life of prayer which is essential and core to the Christian life is both impressive and admirable. The fact you have the humility to admit this weakness is surely a very positive sign that you are making progress.

    • Thanks Laura. I have to ask though… Without a serious knowledge of myself personally, how can you say I am “making progress,” …? I’m not offended at the comment, I just found it kind of odd for a stranger to make.

      • Laura says:

        It was merely an observation, not an infallible statement of fact. I once read, I think by Spurgeon and also by Wesley that as soon as you see an act of humility, that means progress is being made, since they argue humility is the only virtue the demons cannot imitate or possess and is always therefore from God. Thus the fact you were open enough to admit that you do not have a stable and consistent prayer life which is core to the Christian life seemed to me a pretty solid act of humiliation. I know in my church many people would be red faced admitting something so terrible as not calling on God for help. Hence, based on what seemed to me to be a humble admission Spurgeon would say this is a sign you are on the way to overcoming this weakness. Thus I only said its surely a positive sign. You’re right, I could well be wrong. I was only going by what those spiritual masters say. It’s kind of like the whole AA notion – the first step to making progress is admitting you have a problem (without qualifying them with excuses). I don’t have the gift to read souls or anything, was merely trying to offer some encouragement.

Leave a Reply

