Parable of the Rebellious Prince: The Son Accepts the Father’s Offer.

This is one path in a previous story. If you have not read the story, please start from the beginning.

 * * *

The son inclined his ear to the fathers words. He recognised that the good king’s law was good. He recognised that the good king ruled by right. He also recognised that his rebellion was unjustified and foolish. He also saw he was going to die.

So the prince regretted the error of his ways and confessed to his father:

“My Lord the King, I know how you ruled most justly, and how your law prospered all people everywhere. Yet I rebelled against you and attempted to establish my own law to this day — a new law, to rival your own and to usurp your rightful rule. I attempted to establish my own rule by force, but it has only led to my own ruin, and I have been suffering and bound in this place to this very day. I confess to you that I am at fault and will pledge myself to your rule and guidance once again.”

Overjoyed, the good king ordered the prince to be released from his chains. He brought the royal decree to the prince. And in the presence of many witnesses, both prince and king marked the decree with their own signet rings. The prince was reinstated in his royal dignity with full honours and privileges of inheritance as a son.

Thus did the son give up his foolish rebellion and his wicked plots, and served the king with joy all the rest of his days.

~ The end.

* * *

1 John 1:8-9: 

If we say we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, God is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

Leave a Reply

