Thanks for His Gifts

Today was my birthday! My 22nd. I had a ripper brekky with a friend of mine I hadn’t seen in yonks; I made speedy progress on my thesis work; I went out to dinner with a great bunch of mates and finished the night with bowling. It was terrific.

I feel that I am so blessed to know and be able to love the LORD. When I think about it, the Lord took me out of darkness and placed me into the Kingdom of his beloved Son, whom He loves. He gave me the gift of eternal salvation when I simply turned to him in faith and rescued my soul for his honour and glory. Bless his wonderful name!

I also feel blessed to be able to share in fellowship with believers. Two particular friends stand out at this time. I’ll call them J and N. These two are the best mates. J and N are each so different to me in so many ways. And yet we are held together by a such unity of brotherhood in the Spirit and in love work together for mutual encouragement in the gospel.

I think it’s fantastic how God can do that. He takes us all from different worlds and walks in life and unites us as one in spirit, heart and purpose.

God has given us not only salvation in the Lord Jesus Christ as a gift, he has also given us the gift of our friends and family in the faith.

Two scriptures some to mind:

 “Behold, how good and pleasant it is
    when brothers dwell in unity!”
(Psalm 133:1.)

“And though a man might prevail against one who is alone, two will withstand him—a threefold cord is not quickly broken.”
(Ecclesiastes 4:12.)

I bless the Lord for the gifts He has given us in His Son: (1) He has given us of Himself, and (2) He has given us each other, united as one, in His holy family.

Bless the Lord!
10681885_10154608064705144_1184049651_n

Leave a Reply

