On Family

Tonight my father had his 50th birthday. It was a nice occasion, full of food and family.

And I got to thinking. How important it is to spend time with family.

I personally don’t have a very good relationship with much of my family. Heaps has gone on in our lives, and many relationships that should now be stronger than ever are quite fragile. I actually tend to spend a lot more time with friends than with my family.

But I think God has given us our families for a reason. In Acts 17 it says that God has placed each one of us in the time sand the circumstances we are in.

Furthermore, the commandment says, “Honor your father and your mother, that your days may be prolonged in the land which the Lord your God gives you.” (Exodus 20:12.)

No matter how we get along with them, and regardless of how we like them, we are called to honour our parents. Why? For our own benefit. “That your days may be long in the land,” says the LORD.

So I would like to bless the Lord for my family today. I want to invest more time in them and not take them for granted.

What about your family? Are you thankful for what you have? How might you express your love and thanks for them?

God bless.

Leave a Reply

