Prayer and Anguish


“The LORD is nigh unto them that call upon him,
To all that call upon him in truth.
He will fulfil the desire of them that fear him:
he will also hear their cry, and will save them.”
Psalm 145:18-19
(KJV)


Recently, I was concerned about a friend. Essentially, my friend was in the process of making some choices I believed were unwise.

As I pondered my friend’s choices, they weighed so heavily on my heart that I prayed to the LORD concerning this friend every day.

My soul was anguished on behalf of my friend. Every day I was on my knees. I was fretting. I was weeping. I was groaning.

How long has it been in your life since you’ve had a real encounter with God in prayer? I tell you, friend, so often I am all too consumed up in myself to give much thought to God in prayer. I am too consumed by the things on this world to focus on Jesus. All too often do I set my mind on things below, and not on things above!

But God has a better way for us. Instead of us just buzzing around relying on ourselves all the time, God wants us to come before him and place our worries in his lap. He wants us to stop for a minute, and to simply sit, be silent, and know that God, the LORD, is God. He wants to refresh our souls in his presence; he wishes to fill us with songs of deliverance.

In the end, my friend never went through with his choices. I couldn’t have been more relieved. But I have to be more careful to remember what precipitated this miracle: not my own strength, but the power of God through prayer.

I think if we be genuine with God, God will be genuine with us, and make his presence known to us.

God bless.

Leave a Reply

